A Writer’s Day

Too many of us get stuck because we think we should know where to start and which ideas to develop.  When we find we don’t, we become anxious and either force things or quit.  We forget to wonder, leaving ourselves open to what might come.  Wondering means it’s acceptable not to know, and it is the natural state at the beginning of all creative acts, as recent brain research shows.
Gabriele Rico – Writing the Natural Way

 

Every morning I want to get up and surrender.

Every morning I want to dance, even if it’s only one song, to remind myself who I am: magical, mystical, mischievous, dancing, poetical me.

Every morning I want to shower and dress and leave the house, at least for a while: to the coffee shop or the beach or the library or the shops or the park or the city or a friend or my family.  Every day I want to be out in the morning.  It feeds my soul.  In the afternoons I write but in the mornings I wander…and wonder.

Every morning I want to greet the day with enthusiasm and delight, even if I have to grumble a little on the page first, and open to the adventure ahead because there’s always an adventure to be found, especially if I leave the house.

Every morning I want to put on my wings…and fly!

 

writer1

 

This entry was posted in Writer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Writer’s Day

  1. momcmorrow says:

    This is beautiful! I love “…especially if I leave the house.

    Like

Leave a Reply

